What Should I Do Today?

This is the first day that I can remember since Christmas break where I have a day to myself. The kids are gone (hanging out with their friends in Saratoga) and I don’t have plans to hang out with any of my friends. I was trying to see all of the Oscar movies before the ceremony, so each weekend I’d go with my friend Crazy James to see one or two movies each weekend that were nominated for best picture, director, lead actor…

So I went to the gym, completed a few errands and chores (I still need to finish putting away the laundry) but I almost don’t know what to do with myself for the rest of the day. There are too many options for this free time!  So far, I’m planning on watching at least one movie, one or two episodes of tv, and spend the rest of the time playing video games.

Priority 1: Watch Flash Point

I love martial arts movies and a few weeks ago, some twitter friends suggested a bunch of them that I haven’t seen yet. Today, my first entertainment priority will be watching Flash Point based on a suggestion from @king_ruckus. It looks like a fun martial arts movie and it is recommended to me on Netflix with 4 out of 5 stars!

Martial Arts Movie Night!
Martial Arts Movie Night!

Priority 2: Watch At Least One Episode of Black Mirror

This show is my new obsession. It’s like a modern day version of The Twilight Zone. It’s creepy and unnerving and it’s British! I’m a bit of an Anglophile, so that makes the show that much better.  I’ve only gone through 1.5 episodes because I’ve been so busy and I’ve been dying to get back to it.  I’d also like to start the new season of House of Cards, but I know once I start that, I won’t be able to stop and I won’t do any of these other fun things!  If you haven’t seen this show, start watching it now. It will blow your mind! It’s on Netflix–no excuses!

Black Mirror

Priority 3: Play Yakuza

I have been on a mission to play all of the Yakuza games starting with the first one on Playstation 2.  I decided to embark on this mission because @soulbrotherkab and @king_ruckus recommended the game based on my love of beat em ups: specifically based on my love for River City Ransom.  The first game arrived in the mail this week (I got a great deal on ebay) and I only had time to get through the tutorial. My goal is to get a couple hours farther into the story of the game.

Yakuza 1

Priority 4: Play Dragon Age Inquisition or Dust: An Elysian Tale or Ducktales Remastered

I’m over 100 hours into Dragon Age. I love it, but I’m also frustrated with how time consuming it is. I’ve been expressing this frustration on Twitter and people seem to agree that some of the tasks you need to complete are tedious and frustrating. I have to beat the game because RPG games are usually my favorite genre and the game is fun overall, but I find myself procrastinating with it.

Dragon Age Inquisition

I’m also in the middle of Dust: An Elysian Tale. This game is amazing. It’s unique, the art style is beautiful, the acting is fantastic, the soundtrack fits the game perfectly, and IT’S ADORABLE! It is the cutest freaking game and it makes me way too happy to play it. I realized while playing this that I need to find more action RPGs.

Dust an Elysian Tale

Finally, I also started playing Ducktales Remastered. It was free on Playstation Plus this month and it is really well done. If you played the remastered version of Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse, Ducktales was remade in a similar style. It feels like you’re playing the old cartoons!  Ducktales was my favorite after-school cartoon as a kid so this game holds a special place in my heart. Also, the gameplay is addictive and it’s just a blast to play.

DuckTales-Remastered_04

Ok, I’m going to get started on all of this; looking forward to being lazy for a while.

2 thoughts on “What Should I Do Today?

Leave a Reply

