Uncharted 4 Delayed… I’ll Be in the Fetal Position Until Spring 2016

I purchased a PS4 to play The Last Guardian and to play Uncharted 4 and I’m all outta The Last Guardian… and Uncharted 4 apparently.  I’m exaggerating a bit, obviously, because everyone knows I LOVE PLAYSTATION! It is sooooo choice…

So-Choice-Meme

First The Last Guardian scare happened in February; we thought they stopped working on the game altogether, then The Order: 1886 received bad reviews for being too short, now Uncharted 4 is delayed… I swear, if something happens to Bloodborne, I’m going to lose it!  What is going on with Sony exclusives lately? Also, I should note that I tried out The Order and I like it so far. I think some of those reviews were pretty harsh.

Uncharted 4Naughty Dog just announced that Uncharted 4 has been delayed until Spring 2016. That is a tough blow for me, and for a lot of PlayStation 4 owners. The Uncharted series is the most popular franchise Sony has right now and undoubtedly one of the all-time favorites for PlayStation exclusives.

Some even say that the style of the Uncharted series was the inspiration for the Tomb Raider reboot. The games felt very similar and I’m sure that’s part of the reason I had so much fun with the new vision for the TR franchise.  Tomb Raider kept my hunger sated for that sort of gameplay/story while I waited for the new Uncharted. Now I feel like I just had a snack and no one’s serving dinner… until next Spring!

i-has-a-sad

Okay, I know I’m being a bit melodramatic; Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End was originally planned for a mid-December release and it has only been delayed to Spring 2016. According to a post on the PlayStation Blog, the game needs more time before it is ready.  You can’t rush perfection, guys. But, don’t we all get a little scared when a game gets delayed?

Here is what Naughty Dog had to say about the rationale behind the delay:

“After spending so many years with Nathan Drake, he means a lot to the team, and telling the climactic chapter of his adventures is a task we don’t take lightly — this game deserves every bit of the attention to detail, precise pacing, and nuanced storytelling Naughty Dog is known for…

Bruce Straley and Neil Druckmann, directors of the game.

I’m a little worried about what this means for Sony. What game do they have to spike sales before Christmas now? I worry about these things. I sit around worrying about the fate of game developers and the console makers. It’s sad but I really did stress out a bit (I know this isn’t normal) about the fate of Nintendo after the Wii U bombed.  I hate seeing good companies struggle like this!

But, this could be good news for all of you Xbox fans who feel like Microsoft is losing the “console war.”  If all goes well, Halo 5 will be out before Christmas and this might help them catch up to Sony in console sales.

One thought on “Uncharted 4 Delayed… I’ll Be in the Fetal Position Until Spring 2016

  1. I’m bummed about this as well. This was the game I was most looking forward to this year. I guess it is better they take all the time they need, but the wait will be tough! Hopefully Sony will announce something else big at E3 for the holiday season to help tide us over!

    Like

Leave a Reply

